Athlete of the MonthFebruary

Michael Baker

How old / young are you? 38 years old What is your occupation? I am the Controller at a consumer goods manufacturing company in Denver. When did you join Widespread Fitness? I joined widespread Fitness a year ago. Why did you decide to give Widespread Fitness a try? Being an introvert, a group fitness class was the last thing I wanted to try. I heard of CrossFit from some friends and I really needed a change in my fitness routine so I decided to step out of my comfort zone and give it a try. I am so glad I did. I really enjoy the classes and the coaches are cool as hell. What was your athletic background before starting? I played football in high school and college. I also played rugby in college and club. What changes in your health, physique, and overall performance have you seen since starting? I have noticed that I have more energy during the day to keep up with my kids. What advice would you give to someone with regards to starting? If you are thinking about it and you are on the fence, just do it. You won’t regret it. Matt and Kari genuinely care about your fitness goals. The athletes I have met are very welcoming and Widespread is made up of a great group people. What is your favorite and least favorite exercises / movement? I absolutely hate burpees. That includes any extension of burpees (burpee box jumps, burpee over bar, synchronized burpees, ect.) My favorite exercises are the power cleans and the partner workouts. What is your most memorable moment so far? Under the lights was the most memorable moment so far. I was a couple months into my CrossFit journey and I was way out of my comfort zone already so I decided to participate. The workout that was selected on the night I chose to participate consisted a lot of burpee box jump-overs and a lot of dumbbell snatches. Of course, the time I chose to participate, my dreaded burpees were a part of the workout. There was a 20 minute time cap and I barely made it. Going into this I thought there was no way in hell that I could finish it. After I finished, I felt a great sense of accomplishment because I actually finished. What do you like to do outside of the gym? What is your favorite “cheat” food or meal? I enjoy the outdoors. I like hiking, fishing, and spending time with my wife and kids. Pizza is my favorite cheat food. What is something people would be surprised to know about you? I am an identical twin. Yes, my twin brother and I pulled all the twin tricks on people growing up. Who or what inspires you the most? My mom inspired me the most. She raised my two brothers and I by herself. She always found a way to preserve through difficult times. I learned growing up that tomorrow is not guaranteed and the only thing you truly have control over in life is your work ethic and attitude. What is one goal you would like to accomplish? I want to do a legit pull up. That would be really cool.